The latest from Global Football

A-League match previews and predictions

The A-League is the top level of the Australian football league system. Seasons run from October to May. Ten teams play a regular season of 27 fixtures to create a league table winner and the highest placed teams qualify for a playoff. The league winner is called the “premier” while the playoff winner is the “champion”. There is no set system for relegation, unlike most leagues in the world.